Skip to main content

Book Reviews

I am currently a book reviewer for Pacific Journal of Baptist Research, Reviews in Religion and Theology and, most recently, Relegere. I also sometimes review books on this blog just for fun. I used to be a Thomas Nelson blog reviewer until I got sick of the pseudo-Christian garbage they like to churn out. If you would like to send me a book for review please go to my contact page.

I plan to put links to all my reviews on this page but for now if there isn't one that you need, just email me and i'll be happy to send the document or a link to you.

Updated 17/10/18

In the mail


Adam Winn, Reading Mark's Christology Under Ceasar, for RRT

Reviews in progress

Douglas Kennard, Epistemology and Logic in the New Testament, for PJBR
Myk Habets, Heaven: An Inkling of What is to Come, Blog-review

Completed and forthcoming

Robert Beck, Jesus and his Enemies, in RRT
Lucy Peppiatt, Women and Worship at Corinth, in RRT
Michael Bird, The Eternal Son, in PJBR
David Capes, The Divine Christ, in PJBR
Ipsen, Sex Work and the Bible, in PJBR

Published

Peter Leithart, Deep Exegesis, Multi-part Blog-review: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 & 6 
Max Lucado, Fearless, Blog review 2009
Emmerson Eggerichs, Love and Respect, Blog-review 2009

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

ANZABS 2018 program and abstracts

ANZABS CONFERENCE 2018
6-7 December, 2018


Venue: Wesley Hall, Trinity Methodist College,

202A St Johns Rd, Meadowbank, Auckland 1072

Thursday 6 December
9.30 am – REGISTRATION
10.00-10.10 – mihi
10.10-11.00 – Keynote speaker: Robert Myles – Fishing for Eyewitnesses in the Fourth Gospel
11.00-11.30 – Morning tea
11.30-12.00 – Lyndon Drake – Economic Capital in the Hebrew Bible
12.00-12.30 – Anne Aalbers – Resurrection and Celibacy: Two Sides of the Same Coin?
12.30-1.00 – Jonathan Robinson – "And he was with the beasts," (Mark 1:13): Ambiguity,
Interpretation and Mark as a Jewish Author
1.00-2.00 – Lunch
2.00-2.30 – Ben Hudson – Ethical Exhortation and the Decalogue in Ephesians
2.30-3.00 – Csilla Saysell – The Servant as 'a covenant of/for people' in Deutero-Isaiah
3.00-3.30 – Afternoon tea
3.30-4.00 – Jacqueline Lloyd – Did Jesus minister in Gaulanitis?
4.00-4.30 – Mark Keown – Jesus as the New Joshua
4.30 – AGM
Friday 7 December
9.30-10.00 – Ben Ong – Pākehā Readin…

How to use Google Docs and Translate to make a Quick Rough Translation of a Modern Language Document (for FREE)

We all know that there is no substitute for knowing the language and that Google translate can make amusing mistakes. However, the ability to quickly make rough translations saves a great deal of time and also allows you to (carefully) engage in language literature that doesn't come up frequently enough to be worth learning, but has that one article you really want to read.

1. Make a good quality PDF scan of the document with one page per scan. (this may mean twice the number of scan pages, but it will save you time in the long run, trust me) I use a piece of paper to blank the page I don't want to copy in each scan. Ensure the scans are straight and all on the same orientation.

2. Save the resulting PDF in Google Drive.

3. Right click on the PDF in Google Drive and [open with] [Google Docs]. This will open a new window in your browser and will take some time - now is a good time to recite some verb conjugations. This is because Google's OCR is turning the scan into text b…

Updated Current Research and Book Reviews

So, my PhD must be going well because I have just spent the morning updating my blog pages for Current Research and brand spanking new Book Reviews page. But it is not just procrastination, it is good to stop and and get an overview.

I had totally forgotten about half the book reviews I had done on this blog, they go back to 2009! I am still working on writing the sort of reviews I really enjoy reading, but now that I'm regularly doing reviews for journals it is great to also review books on this blog where I have stylistic freedom and no space limitations. I had always hoped this blog would be a good source of free books, but while it was a source of free books they were not good ones. Reviewing for journals (as a PhD student) has been much better and is helping me keep my broader education going even as I delve deep into my PhD subject. Looking at my old book reviews helps me realise how far I have come. Hopefully, much growth as a blogger, scholar and human being (perhaps not i…